Sometimes I think it is important to take a step back, and look at the words you are using. Do they accuratly express the meaning you are trying to convey? Here's an example.
You're talking to a friend. You are being told a story. They're telling you about a television show they watched the previous night or something. They recount their feelings upon seeing one of the main characters die. They say, "I was on the edge of my seat, thinking that surely, he couldn't be beheaded. But before I knew it, Ned's head was chopped off. I started to scream at the screen and I literally died!".
Did you really? Are you sure about that? You literally died?
lit·er·al·ly (l
t
r-
-l
)
adv.
1. In a literal manner; word for word
Seeing as you are currently living, and I am doubting my participation in an apocalyptic society brought on by the undead, I think I can safely assume that you are not literally dead. I understand that this character's beheading must have been quite traumatic to for you, but maybe you could think of a more appropriate way to describe your crushing sorrow. Perhaps in a manner that does not make you sound like a gossiping female teenie-bopper.
Like I said, I realize that words come in and out of style, and not all of them accuralty express the message desired in relation to their definition, and for the most part I can live with that. I successfully endured months of people's "epicness" without strangling anybody, but I cannot seem to get past their being so "literal" all the time. There's something about it that makes me feel like I'm in some bad remake of Mean Girls.
So please, at least when around me, either mean what you say word for word, or do not say that you do.
Thank you kindly!
Ok I may have been slightly guilty of this once or twice.
ReplyDeleteI guess it's more annoying if you're not the one saying it.
Hyperboles and Teenagers my friend! Go hand in hand like peanut butter and jelly.
ReplyDeleteDoes anyone here understand "Ain't about dat"? it's my new least favourite
ReplyDelete